Mushroom, Tomato, & Spinach Quiche

This is a recipe we’ve been making non-stop. It’s adapted from the famous blogger Oh She Glows.

I think we’ve eaten a total of four of these quiches in the past two weeks. We eat it for breakfast, primarily… but also as a quick leftover lunch. Or “brinner”. That’s Wesley’s word for Breakfast at Dinner.

To make the crust you grind a cup of almonds with a cup of oats, add in some spices and salt. I also added a splash of oil and a flax-egg. Now that’s a protein packed crust for ya.

Image

Spread this out into a pie or tart pan and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes, just to get it a touch golden.

In the meantime I “pressed” my block of tofu under a few heavy books, after wrapping it in a tea towel.

Image

This gets a majority of the water out. Puree this with a dash of almond milk, if needed, to get it creamy.

I added a cup of diced mushrooms with a cup of chopped spinach to some onion and garlic I had been sautéing.

IMG_4221

IMG_4227

Then I added a tomato, oregano, salt, and some nutritional yeast. I’ll probably be talking a lot about nutritional yeast. If you don’t already know, it is NOT regular yeast. It’s a cheesy flavored, amino acid packed, dehydrated yeast. Oh, the best part… it’s a complete protein that contains all of the B vitamins. YUM.

IMG_4228

Add the pureed tofu to this veggie mix, give it a good stir, and pour the batter into the crust. Bake at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes.

Oh my, the aroma…

IMG_4240

My eyes could eat half of this quiche, but since there is so much protein in this… I can only eat a slice. No complaints.

Leave a Reply

