Healthy Rolos + Fresh Juice + KT

We had a little get-together this past weekend. It was to celebrate our lovely friend Katie on her birthday! She doesn’t live as close as we’d like, but thankfully it isn’t far away.

Medjool dates… Google it. They are reportedly quite healthy. And let me tell you… they are so delicious. We picked up these organic ones at Olde Fashioned Foods in Fort Smith. They were about $8 for a bag.. but we made a lot of desserts from them.

Image

I have read that you can eat the seed inside, but I just went ahead and took them out since I was going to blend the dates. I didn’t want to over-stress my blender. Blend about 10 or 11 of these dates with 1/2 tablespoon of peanut butter, maybe a dash of sea salt.

Image

You’ll want to blend or process until it’s as creamy as you can get it. Place in freezer for 10 minutes.

Image

Then, wet your hands. Roll into tiny balls. I made about 20 of these. You could do bigger, or smaller, I suppose.

Image

Set these back in the freezer for another 10 minutes. Meanwhile, melt 1/2 cup of chocolate chips with just a teaspoon of coconut oil. Pull the date-caramel balls out of the freezer. Use a spoon to roll each rolo into the chocolate until fully covered. Tap off the excess. I placed each rolo on parchment paper, then kept in fridge until we were ready to eat them.

Image

You know you want to eat these.

Wesley and I made West African peanut butter soup and served over rice. I’ll do a post about that dish soon. We LOVE it.

Samantha Daniels and her hubs brought delicious fruit to juice for us. This was one of their favorite recipes. Blood oranges, carrots, mangos, pineapple, and peaches.

Image

Image

I love that all of my friends love to juice just as much as we do.

Here’s Bekah sporting the “Lady Mary smile of grace”. {{Downton Abbey reference}} Woodland thought it was a pretty decent try.

Image

Here she is… Miss Ameriicaaaaa. I love my Katiebug. She’s been dear to my heart since we first met. A true woman of God. Virtuous and beautiful.

Image

Thankful that my friends put up with our chaos and stayed over for 5 hours. And rocked and ran with and tickled my children.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Have any of you ever used Medjool dates in a recipe? Or eaten one just as is? Such a decadent healthy treat.

Oh, and check out Katie’s new blog here.

Recipe adapted from Oh She Glows.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Rolos + Fresh Juice + KT

Leave a Reply

